SBS Transit Bus Service 140

SBS Transit Bus Service 140 is a residential trunk route from Lorong 1 Geylang and looping at St. Wilfred Road, passing through Geylang Bahru, Bendemeer, Serangoon Road and St. George’s Road.

This is the thirty-fifth (35th) bus service to be introduced under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP),  launched on 14th December 2014.

Bus Service 140 serves the following amenities along the route:

  • MRT Stations:

    • Kallang
    • Geylang Bahru (Future)
    • Boon Keng
  • Schools:
    • CHIJ Katong Convent (Holding Site, till Dec 2016)
    • Bendeemer Primary School
    • Bendeemer Secondary School
  • Geylang West Community Centre
  • Kolam Ayer Community Centre
  • Kallang Community Centre
  • Jalan Besar Town Council Main Office
  • Kallang Basin Swimming Complex
  • St. Wilfred Squash & Tennis Centre
  • Ministry Of Manpower Services Centre


Bus Service 140: Lor 1 Geylang Terminal – St. Wilfred Rd (Loop)
  • Lorong 1 Geylang Ter
  • Lorong 1 Geylang
    – Opp Blk 2C
  • Upp Boon Keng Rd
    – Geylang West CC
    – Aft Geylang West CC
  • Geylang Bahru
    – Opp Blk 82
    – Blk 68
  • Bendemeer Rd
    – Blk 54
    – Blk 44
    – Opp Blk 28
  • Boon Keng Rd
    – Blk 12
  • Serangoon Rd
    – Boon Keng Stn
  • St. George’s Rd
    – Blk 1
  • St. Wilfred Rd
    – Blk 15
  • St. George’s Rd
    – Blk 14
  • Serangoon Rd
    – Opp Bendemeer Pri
    – St Michael’s Pl
  • Bendemeer Rd
    – MOM Services Ctr
  • Geylang Bahru
    – Blk 73
    – Blk 82
  • Upp Boon Keng Rd
    – Bef Blk 19
    – Blk 3B
  • Lorong 1 Geylang
    – Bet Blks 2B/2C
  • Lorong 1 Geylang Ter
Technical Information
Route Lorong 1 Geylang Bus Terminal ↺ St. Wilfred Road (Loop) WAB_logo_20px
Passes Through Upp Boon Keng Rd, Geylang Bahru, Bendemeer Rd, Serangoon Rd (Boon Keng MRT), St. George’s Rd
Route Length 8.4km
Travelling Time 45mins (estimated)
Operator Information
Current Operator SBS Transit
Current Depot Hougang Bus Depot (HGDEP)
Current Fleet Mercedes-Benz O530 Citaro
Volvo B10M Mark IV
Departure Times from Lor 1 Geylang
0600 – 2330 (Daily)
Loop Service
0630-0830: 11 – 12 min
0831-1659: 12 – 16 min
1700-1930: 12 – 18 min
After 1930: 14 – 18 min
LTA/SBST Joint Poster Release

Bus Service 140 enhances connectivity for residents of Geylang Bahru, Bendemeer and St George’s Estate, connecting to key transport nodes, such as Lorong 1 Geylang Bus Terminal, Kallang and Boon Keng MRT stations, for transfers to other bus services or rail lines, along with other amenities in the vicinity. It is the thirty-fifth (35th) bus service to be introduced under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP).

The route serves St. George’s Estate, a small residential area without bus connections prior to Bus Service 140,  calling at three new bus stops within the estate (a pair along St. George’s Road, and one along St. Wilfred Road). It will also provide residents of Geylang Bahru with a direct service to Boon Keng MRT, currently not served by existing services.

Former bus service 20 from Sims Place used to loop at St. Wilfred Road before being withdrawn.

In April 2016, a Volvo B10M Mk4 (DM3500 body) was deployed on the bus service, an unusual move as the result of transitioning of buses to the Government Contracting Model. Buses registered under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme were transferred to bus services tendered out under the GCM. SBS2798U, a former permanent bus of Bus Service 119, was swapped with a Mercedes-Benz Citaro from Bus Service 140.





Service 140 at a glance
Service 140 at a glance

Special Departures:

  • St. Wilfred Road (Blk 15)  Lorong 1 Geylang Ter
    Daily: 0600hrs


Fare: Charges fares for regular trunk services. See Bus Fares for exact fares.
Service 140 offered free rides on Sunday, 14 December 2014, the first day of operation.






Operator History:

  • 2014 – Present: SBS Transit Ltd

The Bus Service Operating License (BSOL) for this route will be renewed in 2016.


Past Routings:


External Links & References:

Back to Bus Services
Back to Bus Articles

Ding Dong Bell

Ding Dong!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *