Go-Ahead Bus Service 2A

Go-Ahead Bus Service 2A is a Short-Trip Service variant of Bus Service 2, operating from Kampong Bahru Bus Terminal to Tanah Merah MRT Station, passing through Chinatown, Bugis, Kallang, Geylang, Eunos and Bedok. Bus Service 2A will begin operations on 12 March 2018.


Bus Service 2A:
Kg Bahru Ter → New Upp Changi Rd (Tanah Merah Stn Exit B)
Direction 1 – From Kg Bahru Ter
  • Kg Bahru Rd
    – Kampong Bahru Ter
    – Opp Kg Bahru Ter
  • Eu Tong Sen St
    – Aft Hospital Dr  EW16NE3
    – People’s Pk Cplx  NE4DT19
    – Opp Hong Lim Pk
    – Clarke Quay Stn Exit E  NE5
  • Hill St
    – Armenian Ch
  • Victoria St
    – Hotel Grand Pacific
    – Bugis Stn EW12DT14
    – Stamford Pr Sch
    – Opp Blk 461
  • Kallang Rd
    – Lavender Stn Exit B  EW11
    – Aft Padang Jeringau
  • Sims Ave
    – Kallang Stn  EW10
    – Aft Lor 1 Geylang
    – Yi Xiu Fty Bldg
  • Sims Ave
    – Bef Lor 23 Geylang
    – Aft Aljunied Stn  EW9
    – Blk 134
    – Sims Ville
    – Aft Tg Katong Cplx  EW8CC9
    – Blk 416
    – Eunos Stn/Int  EW7
  • Sims Ave East
    – Casa Sarina
    – Opp Hong San Si Tp
    – Kembangan Stn  EW6
    – Opp Perpetual Succour Ch
  • New Upp Changi Rd
    – Chai Chee Ind Pk
    – Blk 32
    – Bedok Stn Exit B  EW5
    – Blk 221A
    – Bedok Sports Cplx
    – The Tanamera Condo
    – Tanah Merah Stn Exit B EW4CG

Technical Information
Route WAB_logo_20px Kampong Bahru Bus Terminal New Upp Changi Rd (Tanah Merah Stn)
Passes Through Chinatown, Bugis, Kallang, Geylang, Eunos, Bedok
Route Length ~ 15.2 km
Travelling Time TBC
Operator Information
BCM Route Package Loyang Bus Package
Current Operator Go-Ahead Singapore
Current Depot Loyang Bus Depot
Current Fleet 12-metre Double Deck bus:
– Volvo B9TL
Departure Times from Kg Bahru 0621hrs – 0807hrs & 1655hrs – 1853hrs (Weekdays only)
No operation on Saturdays, Sundays & Public Holidays
Frequency Unidirectional Service
AM Peak: 18 – 26 mins
PM Peak: 17 – 20 mins

Service 2A is a trunk service operating from Kampong Bahru Bus Terminal to Tanah Merah MRT Station along New Upper Changi Road, via Chinatown, Bugis, Kallang, Geylang, Eunos and Bedok. As a Short-Trip Service operating only during the weekday peak hours, the route supplements the existing Service 2 with additional Eastbound trips serving the commercial and residential areas along its route.

Duplicating much of the East West MRT Line, the introduction of Service 2A is a follow-up to Minister for Transport Khaw Boon Wan’s remarks on 21 January 2018, which mentioned that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) was considering running more buses along key rail stretches, especially during peak periods. This would improve the resilience of the public transport network, and act as a back-up if unexpected faults occur.

Service 2A is wheelchair-accessible at launch and was introduced on 12 March 2018, 2 days after Service 2 was amended to Kampong Bahru Bus Terminal. The route takes the numbering of a former Shortworking Trip 2A, Changi Village Terminal → New Upper Changi Road (Bedok Stn), which operated during the days of SBS Transit control.

Fare: Charges basic fares for regular trunk services. See Bus Fares. Calculate your bus fare using LTA’s fare calculator on MyTransport.sg here.

MRT Stations Served



Operator History:

  • 2018 – Present: Go-Ahead Loyang Pte Ltd

The Bus Service Operating License (BSOL) for this route will be renewed in 2021 under the Loyang Bus Package.


Back to Bus Services
Back to Bus Articles

3 thoughts on “Go-Ahead Bus Service 2A

  • 17 March 2018 at 2:34 AM

    Thank you Mike for being on top of this!

  • 7 March 2018 at 2:47 PM

    the following bus service should amemdment and renumbered:
    1. 2A (renumbered as 2e, from Changi Village to Kg Bahru Bus Ter)
    2. 7A (renumbered as 7e, from Bedok Bus Int to Clementi)
    3. 7B (renumbered as 7M, from Clementi loop at dhoby ghaut, like 972)
    4. 147e (extend to Hougang Ctrl Bus Int or amend to Kg Bahru Bus Ter)

    • 15 March 2018 at 7:44 PM

      Good idea especially for 2e and 147e


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *