SBS Transit Bus Service 81

SBS Transit Bus Service 81 is a trunk service plying between Tampines Int and looping at Serangoon Central, passing through Tampines East, Pasir Ris and Kovan. It has an express sector along the KPE and TPE between Pasir Ris Drive 12 and Tampines Rd.

SBST Scania K230UB EuroV Batch1 (SBS8596X) – Service 81, with advert wrap for NEA
Route Information
Route Tampines Bus Interchange ↺ Serangoon Central (Loop)
Passes Through Tampines East, Pasir Ris, TPE/KPE, Kovan
Route Length 34.5km
Travelling Time 120mins
Operator Information
Current Operator SBS Transit
Current Depot Changi Bus Park (CGBP)
Current Fleet 12-metre Double Deck Bus:
Volvo B9TL
– Volvo B10TL
– Volvo Olympian
12-metre Single Deck Bus
– Scania K230UB
Departure Times from T1 0530 – 2330 (Weekdays)
0545 – 2330 (Saturday, Sunday/PHs)
Departure Times from S’goon Ctrl 0545 – 0030 (Weekdays, Saturdays)
0600 – 0030 (Sunday/PHs)
Frequency Loop Service
0630-0830: 10 – 11 mins
0831-1659: 07 – 11 mins
1700-1930: 08 – 14 mins
After 1930: 11 – 19 mins

Route History

Service 81 is an inter-town service, connecting the housing estates of Serangoon, Kovan, Pasir Ris and Tampines with an express sector along the Kallang – Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) and Tampines Expressway (TPE).

Service 53 also plies between Pasir Ris and Serangoon, but takes an alternate route. Good demand is also present between Tampines and Pasir Ris.

In 2011, this route was converted from a bi-directional trunk service to a loop service owing to lack of space in the new Serangoon Interchange.

Special Departures:

  • Serangoon Central (S’goon Stn)  Tampines Int
    0545 (Weekdays, Sat), 0600 (Sun)

Fare: Charges fares for regular trunk services. See Bus Fares for exact fares.

Fleet: Service 81′s fleet comprises a mix of Volvo B9TL, Volvo B10TL, Scania K230UB, Volvo Olympian and Volvo B10M MkIV buses.

Route Information:

Loop Service
  • Tampines Int
  • Tampines Ave 7
  • Loyang Ave
  • Pasir Ris Dr 1
  • Pasir Ris Dr 12
  • Tampines Expressway
  • Tampines Rd
  • Hougang Ave 3
  • Upp Serangoon Rd
  • Serangoon Central
  • Serangoon Central
  • Boundary Rd
  • Upp Serangoon Rd
  • Hougang Ave 3
  • Tampines Rd
  • Tampines Expressway
  • Pasir Ris Dr 12
  • Pasir Ris Dr 1
  • Loyang Ave
  • Tampines Ave 7
  • Tampines Int
Service 81 at a glance. Click for larger image.
Service 81 at a glance. Click for larger image.

Operator History:

  • 1971 – 1973: Associated Bus Services Pte Ltd
  • 1973 – 2001: Singapore Bus Services Ltd
  • 2001 – Present: SBS Transit Ltd

The Bus Service Operating License (BSOL) for this route will be renewed in 2016. 



  • 1971 (11 Apr): Introduced as a Tampines Rd (near Upp Changi Rd) – New Bridge Rd service. Operated by Associated Bus Services.
  • 1987 (06 Jun): Amended to New Bridge Rd Terminal
  • 1988 (23 Oct): Extended to Tampines Int.
  • 1989: Amended to ply Loyang Ave, Pasir Ris Dr 1 and Elias Rd, skipping TPE.
  • 1996 (03 Sep): Amended to ply Pasir Ris Dr 12 and TPE instead of Elias Rd and (Old) Tampines Rd.
  • 1998: Amended to ply Middle Road, skipping Stamford Rd and Bras Basah Rd
  • 2003 (27 Jul): Shortened to Serangoon Int, under Phase 2 of NEL Rationalisation. Also amended to Hougang Ave 3 between Tampines Rd and Upp Serangoon Rd
  • 2007 (23 Jun): Amended to ply part of KPE (between Defu Flyover at Tampines Rd & Tampines Flyover at TPE) temporarily named as Tampines Service Rd.
  • 2011 (03 Sep): Amended to loop at Serangoon Central and Boundary Road following the opening of the new Serangoon Bus Interchange.

Past Routings:


External Links & References:

Back to Bus Services
Back to Bus Articles

Ding Dong Bell

Ding Dong!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *