Jurong Region Line

Jurong Region Line
Type Medium-capacity rail
Station Count 24
Line length 24 km (Under construction)
Termini Choa Chu Kang
Tengah (Phase 2, 2027)
Pandan Reservoir (Phase 2, 2027)
Depot Tengah (Depot)
– Peng Kang Hill (Stabling Facility)
Operational Data
Operators TBA
Rolling stock Hyundai Rotem CJ151 Trains
Electrification Third Rail
Track gauge TBC
Opening 2026-2028 (3 Phases)

The Jurong Region MRT Line, or JRL, is a future rapid transit line currently under planning. Targeted for full completion in 2028, it will be the seventh MRT line in Singapore, employing a fully automated and driverless mode of operation.

First announced in January 2013, the line will connect serve residents of Choa Chu Kang, Boon Lay and the future developments in the Tengah area, and connect to main activity nodes in Jurong West, such as Nanyang Technological University (NTU), the Jurong Industrial estate, including Jurong Island and the future Jurong Gateway. The line will be fully overground.

Also under study is a West Coast Extension, extending the Jurong Region Line east and connecting to the Circle Line at Haw Par Villa. If found to be feasible, the extension will be completed by 2030.

The exact alignment of the line and its stations were announced on 9 May 2018, during a visit to the then-under-construction Canberra MRT Station.

Timeline & History

  • 2001: Plans for an LRT system in the Jurong region surfaced as part of Concept Plan 2001
  • 17 Jan 2013: Jurong Region Line formally announced as part of the Land Transport Master Plan 2013
  • 25 Aug 2015: West Coast Extension announced
  • 09 May 2018: Station working names and alignment announced
  • 2026-2028: Projected opening date (Phase 1 to 3)

The Jurong Region Line (JRL) is 24 kilometres long with 24 stations. When fully opened in Year 2028, it will extend the reach of the rail network to existing and upcoming developments in the Jurong area. This includes residential areas around Choa Chu Kang, Bukit Batok, Jurong West, West Coast and the future Tengah town, as well as high-activity areas such as the Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and the Jurong Industrial estate.

The line comprises multiple branches:

  • Main Branch from Choa Chu Kang to Jurong Pier, via Tengah and Boon Lay
  • West branch from Bahar Junction to Peng Kang Hill at NTU
  • East branch from Tengah to Pandan Reservoir via Jurong East

The line will have interchange stations at Boon Lay, Choa Chu Kang and Jurong East, with additional interchanges with the future Cross Island Line. From Pandan Reservoir, a possible extension to Haw Par Villa could be built in the future, pending the outcomes of ongoing feasibility studies.

The JRL will be served by Tengah MRT Depot, which will house the Operations Control Centre and provide stabling and maintenance facilities for about 100 trains. In addition, there will be a stabling facility near Peng Kang Hill Station to further enhance the launching and withdrawal operations of trains instead of relying solely on the main depot.

To manage the noise impact to nearby residential areas, the above-ground JRL will be built with noise barriers along viaducts. The LTA is studying noise-dampening wheels and better lubrication for the JRL trains to minimise noise at the source.

Train Stations

All station names here are working names and subject to changes.

Phase 1 – Jurong Region Line (West) –  2026
Phase 2 – Jurong Region Line (East) – 2027
Phase 3 – Jurong Region Line (West) Extension – 2028

Service Pattern

2 Train Service patterns will operate on the Jurong Region Line, which we refer to as JRL West and JRL East. The system is designed to support train intervals of 90 seconds but will operate 2 to 3-minute intervals at the start of operations.

Jurong Region Line (West)

When opened in 2026, JRL West Trains will run from Choa Chu Kang, turn around at both Boon Lay and Tawas, and head back to Choa Chu Kang, calling at Bahar Junction thrice.

When the Third Phase is open (2028), trains from Choa Chu Kang turn around at both Jurong Pier and Peng Kang Hill before heading back to Choa Chu Kang.

Jurong Region Line (East)

Opening in 2027, the JRL East branch will operate between Tengah and Pandan Reservoir Stations. A possible extension to Haw Par Villa is currently undergoing feasibility studies.

Rolling Stock

62 Hyundai Rotem Contract J151 trainsets comprising of 3-cars each were procured for the Jurong Region Line. Each car is 18.6m long and 2.8m wide, and powered by a power-supplying third rail. The trainsets can accommodate a possible expansion to 4-cars.

These trains are built in South Korea by Hyundai Rotem Company.


The Jurong Region Line will charge distance-based fares as set by the Public Transport Council. All train and bus journeys in Singapore can be paid for with contactless stored value smartcards. Passengers can also purchase single journey tickets with cash, sold at General Ticketing Machines located in every station.

Adults, Children, Students, Senior Citizens, National Servicemen, Persons with Disabilities and Workfare Income Supplement recipients can use their respective concession cards to enjoy fare discounts.

External Links & References: