(Defunct) JB Free Bus Service JB1

JB Free Bus Service JB1 is a defunct bus route formerly operated by Johor Bahru-based bus operator Handal Indah, plying from Larkin Bus Terminal and looping at Jalan Wong Ah Fook in the JB City Centre. It operated daily and offered free rides to all MBJB Manjalink cardholders (and by extension, all commuters).

The service was re-branded as Bas Muafakat Johor bus service P101 from 1 April 2016 onwards. Its last day of service was 31 March 2016.

Causeway Link SKSbus SA12-300 – Route JB1

Route Information
Route Larkin Bus Terminal  Jalan Wong Ah Fook
Passes Through Jln Kolam Ayer, Hospital Sultanah Aminah, Jln Tun Abdul Razak
Fare Free travel
Operator Information
Current Operator Handal Indah Sdn Bhd
Common Fleet SKSbus SA12-300
Departure Times from Larkin
Daily: 0600hrs – 2350hrs (No longer in operation)
10 – 20mins (Daily)
20min frequencies between 11:00am – 2:00pm, 3.50pm – 4:50pm and 9:50pm-11:50pm. 10min frequencies at all other times.

Route History

Route JB1 was a local bus route plying between Larkin Bus Terminal and Jalan Wong Ah Fook, a main road located in the heart of the Johor Bahru City Centre (also known as Bandaraya JB), passing through Jalan Kolam Ayer, Hospital Sultanah Aminah and Jalan Tun Abdul Razak. An initiative by the Johor Bahru City Council (MBJB), the route operated daily and offered commuters free rides.

The route provided bus connections between the major bus and coach terminal of Larkin and the City Centre, home to many businesses, retail outlets and a gateway to Singapore via the Woodlands Checkpoint crossing. It also served residential developments and small businesses along Jalan Kolam Ayer and Jalan Tun Abdul Razak.

The route was operated by Handal Indah (Causeway Link) using a fleet of special SKSbus SA12-300 buses painted in a dark blue-themed livery. They were fitted with interior television screens, and Arcontia smart card readers which were compatible with Causeway Link’s existing Manjalink smart card.

Boarding Points:

Passengers boarding JB1 at Larkin should proceed to berth C33. From Jalan Wong Ah Fook, board at the bus stop opposite City Square.

Route Information:

Direction 1
  • Larkin Termnal
    Jalan Kenlayang
  • Jalan Kolam Ayer
    – Pejabat Daerah Tanah Johor Bahru
    – Jabatan Penyiaran Negeri Johor
    – opp Masjid Kolam Ayer
    – Sekolah Kebangsaan Nong Chik
  • Jalan Sungai Chat
    – Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (English College)
  • Jalan Lingkaran Dalam
    – Hospital Sultanah Aminah
  • Jalan Abu Bakar
    – Hospital Sultanah Aminah
    – Pusat Islam Iskandar Johor
  • Jalan Ibrahim
    – Majlis Bandaraya Johor Bahru
  • Jalan Wong Ah Fook
    – opp JB City Square
  • Jalan Tun Abdul Razak
    – aft Wisma Maria
    – Jalan Tun Abdul Razak (Susur 4)
    – Before Jalan Yahya Awal
    Jalan Kolam Ayer
    Jalan Kenlayang
  • Larkin Terminal



Scania K250UB (SKSBus Ci09) : Replacement bus Yutong ZK6118HGA : Replacement Bus



  • 2014 (25 Jul): Introduced between Larkin Bus Terminal and MBJB
  • 2015 (25 May): Amended to Jalan Kolam Ayer and Jalan Abu Bakar, rejoining original route towards Larkin
  • 2016 (01 Apr): Re-branded as Bas Muafakat Johor bus service P101

Past Routings:

  • NA


External Links & References:

Back to Bus Services
Back to Bus Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *