SBS Transit Bus Service 158

SBS Transit Bus Service 158 is a trunk route running from Serangoon Interchange and looping at Tanjong Rhu, going via Serangoon Avenue 1, Upper Paya Lebar, MacPherson Estate, Aljunied, Mountbatten and Tanjong Rhu Road.

Bus Service 158: Serangoon ↺ Rhu Cross (Loop)
From Serangoon Looping at Rhu Cross
  • S’goon Ave 2
    – Serangoon Int NE12CC13
  • Upp S’goon Rd (Express)
  • S’goon Ctrl
    – Blk 421
  • S’goon Ave 1
    – Blk 426
    – Opp Rindu Terr
  • Bartley Rd
    – Bartley Chr Ch
    – Aft Bartley Stn Exit B CC12
    – Bef Upp Paya Lebar Rd
  • Upp Paya Lebar Rd
    – Opp Paya Lebar St
    – Opp Asiawide Ind Bldg
    – Opp Tai Seng Stn CC11
  • Paya Lebar Rd
    – Opp Trinity @ Paya Lebar
    – Citipoint Ind Cplx
  • Circuit Lk
    – Opp MacPherson Stn Exit A CC10DT26
  • Circuit Rd
    – Opp MacPherson Stn Exit D CC10DT26
  • Pipit Rd
    – Blk 90
  • Circuit Rd
    – Blk 79 FC
  • Mattar Rd
    – Opp Mattar Stn Exit B DT25
    – MacPherson Pr Sch
  • Aljunied Rd
    – Blk 125
    – Blk 102
    – Aljunied Stn EW9
  • Geylang Rd
    – Bef Lor 18 Geylang
    – Opp Mohd Salleh Mque
  • Sims Way
    – Aft Geylang Rd
  • Mountbatten Rd
    – S.A. Deaf CC7
    – Mountbatten Stn Exit B CC7
    – Bef Wilkinson Rd
  • Fort Rd
    – Opp Fort Gdns
  • Tg Rhu Rd
    – Opp Dunman High Sch
    – S’pore Swim Club
    – Opp Tg Ria Condo
    – Opp Pebble Bay
    – Park Shore Condo
  • Rhu Cross
    – Opp Costa Rhu Condo
  • Tg Rhu Rd
    – Bef Tg Rhu View
    – Pebble Bay
    – Tg Ria Condo
    – Opp S’pore Swim Club
    – Dunman High Sch
  • Fort Rd
    – Fort Gdns
  • Mountbatten Rd
    – Bef Kg Kayu Rd
    – Opp Mountbatten Stn CC7
    – Opp S.A. Deaf CC7
  • Sims Way
    – Bef Geylang Rd
  • Sims Ave
    – Yi Xiu Fty Bldg
    – Bef Lor 23 Geylang
  • Aljunied Rd
    – Opp Aljunied Stn EW9
    – Opp Blk 105
    – Opp Blk 125
  • Merpati Rd
    – Aft Jln Anggerek
    – Opp Mattar Stn Exit A DT25
  • Circuit Rd
    – Blk 77
    – Blk 36
    – Opp Blk 66
  • Circuit Lk
    – MacPherson Stn Exit A CC10DT26
  • Paya Lebar Rd
    – Opp Orion @ Paya Lebar
    – Le Crescendo
  • Upp Paya Lebar Rd
    – Aft Tai Seng Stn CC11
    – Asiawide Ind Bldg
    – Aft Paya Lebar St
  • Bartley Rd
    – Aft Upp Paya Lebar Rd
    – Bartley Stn Exit A CC12
  • S’goon Ave 1
    – Rindu Terr
    – St. Gabriel’s Sec Sch
  • S’goon Ctrl
    – Blk 409
  • Upp S’goon Rd
    – S’goon Stn Exit A/Blk 413 NE12CC13
  • S’goon Ave 2
    – Serangoon Int NE12CC13


Technical Information
Route Serangoon Bus Interchange ↺ Rhu Cross (Loop)
Passes Through Serangoon Ave 1, Upp Paya Lebar, MacPherson Estate, Aljunied, Mountbatten, Tanjong Rhu
Route Length 25.3 km
Travelling Time 85 mins
Operator Information
BCM Route Package Serangoon – Eunos Bus Package
Current Operator SBS Transit Ltd
Current Depot Hougang Bus Depot (HGDEP)
Current Fleet 12-metre Single Deck Bus:
Mercedes-Benz Citaro
Scania K230UB
Departure Times from Serangoon
0545 – 2330 (Weekdays, Saturdays)
0600 – 2330 (Sundays/PHs)
Frequency Loop Service
0630hrs – 0830hrs: 11 – 13 mins
0831hrs – 1659hrs: 10 – 16 mins
1700hrs – 1900hrs: 13 – 14 mins
After 1900hrs: 13 – 17 mins

Route History

Service 158 is a residential trunk route connecting the estates of Serangoon, Bartley, MacPherson, Geylang, Mountbatten and Tanjong Rhu, linking them with a multiple MRT stations along the way, such as Serangoon, Tai Seng and Aljunied. The route is well utilized not just by residents, but also by workers from industrial areas near Tai Seng and Aljunied Road.

As the only route serving Tanjong Rhu (before the route extension of Service 11), Service 158 is crucial to providing bus connections for residents. To aid with peak hour demand between Tanjong Rhu and Aljunied MRT, Short Trip Service 158A is operated during the peak hours, which also benefits student demand from Dunman High School.

Fare: Charges basic distance fares. See Bus Fares. Calculate your bus fare using LTA’s fare calculator on here.

MRT Stations Served
Special Departures
  • Rhu Cross (Opp Costa Rhu Condo)  Serangoon Int
    Weekdays: 0600hrs, 0614hrs
    Saturdays: 0600hrs, 0611hrs
    Sundays/PHs: 0615hrs
Short Trip Service
  • Service 158A: Aljunied Rd (Aljunied MRT Stn) → Aljunied Rd (opp Aljunied MRT Stn) via Rhu Cross
    Weekdays AM & PM Peak only

Service 158A helps relieve demand between Tanjong Rhu and Aljunied MRT for residents of Tanjong Rhu and students of Dunman High School.



Operator History
  • 1971 – 1973: Associated Bus Service
  • 1973 – 2001: Singapore Bus Services Ltd
  • 2001 – Present: SBS Transit Ltd

The Bus Service Operating License (BSOL) for this route will be renewed in 2025 under the Serangoon – Eunos Bus Package.

  • 1971 (08 Aug): Introduced between Toa Payoh Town Ctr Ter and Fidelio St Ter
  • 1973 (01 Jul): Extended to Chai Chee Ter
  • 1973 (01 Nov): Operated by Singapore Bus Service (SBS)
  • 1974 (03 Feb): Amended to skip Fidelio St under 1974 Bus Rationalisation
  • 1983 (26 Dec): Amended to Toa Payoh Int
  • 1985 (08 Sep): Extended to Bedok Int with the closure of Chai Chee Ter
  • 1990 (04 Feb): Amended from Toa Payoh Int to Serangoon Int
  • 1992 (03 May): Shortened to loop at Tg Rhu Rd under TransitLink Network Integration Exercise Phase 7
  • 1998: Calls at a new bus stop opposite Costa Rhu Condo along Rhu Cross, skipping a pair of bus stops outside and opposite AMCOL along Tg Rhu Rd
  • 2001 (01 Nov): Operated by SBS Transit
  • 2003: Calls at a new pair of bus stops outside Serangoon Stn along Serangoon Central
  • 2003: Skips a pair of bus stops outside and opposite Camelot Condo along Tg Rhu Rd to facilitate the construction of KPE
  • 2004 (27 Apr): Amended to ply Sims Ave towards Serangoon Int with the temporary conversion of Lor 1 Geylang to a one-way road
  • 2004 (06 Dec): Amended to ply the reinstated Lor 1 Geylang towards Serangoon Int, skipping Sims Ave
  • 2005 (05 Jun): Amended to ply Sims Way with the partial closure of southbound Mountbatten Rd
  • 2005 (02 Jul): Amended to ply Sims Way with the partial closure of northbound Mountbatten Rd
  • 2009 (08 Mar): Skips a pair of bus stops outside and opposite Bartley Sec Sch with the realignment of the junction of Upp Paya Lebar Rd and Bartley Rd
  • 2009 (22 Nov): Calls at a new pair of bus stops outside and opposite MacPherson Stn along Circuit Link
  • 2011 (26 Jun): Amended to ply Lor Bengkok with the closure of Circuit Link to facilitate the construction of MacPherson MRT station on the Downtown MRT Line
  • 2011 (03 Sep): Amended to Serangoon Integrated Transport Hub
  • 2013 (31 Mar): Designated wheelchair-accessible bus route (WAB)
  • 2014 (10 Aug): Calls at a new bus stop opposite Blk 2 along Mountbatten Rd
  • 2016 (16 Oct): Amended to ply the reinstated Circuit Link, skipping Lor Bengkok

Past Routings:


External Links:

Back to Bus Services
Back to Bus Articles

Ding Dong Bell

Ding Dong!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *