SBS Transit Bus Service 160

SBS Transit Bus Service 160 is a cross-border service plying between Jurong East Interchange and JB Sentral in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. The route passes through Bukit Batok Rd, Phoenix, Woodlands Road, Kranji MRT, Woodlands CIQ and Sultan Iskandar CIQ.

Bus Service 160 will call at relocated bus stop along Bukit Batok Rd from 23 Apr 2017.


Route Details (Click to expand)
Bus Service 160: Jurong East ↺ JB Sentral
From Jurong East
Looping at JB Sentral
  • Jurong Gateway Rd
    – Jurong East Temp Int EW24NS1
  • Jurong East Ctrl
    – Seventh-Day Advent Ch
  • Boon Lay Way
    – Blk 105
    – Blk 112
  • Jurong Town Hall Rd
    – Parc Oasis
    – Blk 303
  • Bt Batok Rd
    – Aft PIE
    – Opp Dulwich Coll
    – Opp Blk 443D
    – Opp Blk 437A
    – Bef Bt Batok West Ave 2
    – Opp Dunearn Sec Sch
    – Bef Bt Batok West Ave 5
    – Aft Bt Batok West Ave 5
    – Opp Bt Batok Fire Stn
  • Choa Chu Kang Rd
    – Blk 26
    – Phoenix Stn BP5
  • W’lands Rd
    – Ten Mile Junction Stn BP14
    – Opp Blk 632 CP
    – Opp Blk 635A
    – Bef Yew Tee Flyover
    – Aft Yew Tee Flyover
    – Heavy Veh Pk
    – Yew Tee Ind Est
    – Thong Huat Bros Pte Ltd
    – Da Di Glass
    – Opp Mandai Est
    – Bef Mandai Rd
    – Opp Mandai Rd
    – Opp Jln Bumbong
    – Aft LP 234
    – Opp Kranji War Memorial
    – Opp S’pore Turf Club
    – Opp Kranji Stn NS7
    – Bef W’lands Ind Pk D St 2
    – Kranji Lodge 1
    – Bef BKE
  • W’lands Crossing
    – W’lands Checkpt
  • Johor Bahru
    – Johor Bahru Checkpt
  • Jln Lingkaran Dalam (Express)
  • Jln Tanjung Puteri (Express)
  • Jln Jim Quee
    – JB Sentral Bus Ter
  • Jln Tanjung Puteri (Express)
  • Jln Lingkaran Dalam (Express)
  • Johor Bahru
    – Johor Bahru Checkpt
  • W’lands Crossing
    – W’lands Checkpt
  • W’lands Rd
    – Opp Kranji Lodge 1
    – Aft W’lands Ind Pk D St 2
    – Kranji Stn NS7
    – S’pore Turf Club
    – Kranji War Memorial
    – Bef Jln Bumbong
    – Aft Jln Bumbong
    – Aft Mandai Rd
    – Aft Mandai Est
    – Opp Da Di Glass
    – Opp Yew Tee Ind Est Blk 1
    – Opp Yew Tee Ind Est
    – Opp Heavy Veh Pk
    – Aft Yew Tee Flyover
    – Aft KJE Slip Rd
    – Blk 632 CP
    – Opp Ten Mile Junction Stn BP14
  • Choa Chu Kang Rd
    – Opp Phoenix Stn BP5
    – Opp Blk 26
  • Bt Batok Rd
    – Bt Batok Fire Stn
    – Bef Bt Batok West Ave 5
    – Aft Bt Batok West Ave 5
    – Blk 402
    – Aft Bt Batok West Ave 2
    – Blk 436A
    – Blk 443D
    – Dulwich Coll/Blk 445
    – Bef PIE
  • Jurong Town Hall Rd
    – Blk 253
    – Blk 228
  • Boon Lay Way
    – Bef Yuhua CC
    – Blk 210
  • Jurong East Ctrl
    – Bef Seventh-Day Advent Ch
  • Jurong Gateway Rd
    – Jurong East Temp Int EW24NS1


  • ORANGE denotes roads in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
  • From 2300hrs onwards, buses leaving Jurong East Temp Int will terminate at Jln Jim Quee – JB Sentral Bus Ter.
Technical Information
Jurong East Bus Interchange  JB Sentral Bus Terminal (Loop)
Passes Through Bukit Batok Rd, Phoenix, Woodlands Rd, Kranji MRT, Woodlands CIQ, Sultan Iskandar CIQ
Route Length 48.4 km
Travelling Time 200 mins (Full Loop, Subject to traffic conditions)
Operator Information
BCM Route Package Bukit Merah Bus Package
Current Operator SBS Transit Ltd
Current Depot Bukit Batok Bus Depot (BBDEP)
Current Flee Suruhanjaya Pengangkutan Awam Darat (SPAD) Registered 12-metre Single Deck Bus:
Scania K230UB
Departure Times from Jurong East
0510 – 2259 (Daily | Full Loop)
2300 – 0000 (Daily | Terminating at JB Sentral)
Departure Times from JB Sentral
0642 – 0009 (Weekdays)
0636 – 0009 (Saturdays)
0641 – 0013 (Sundays / Public Holidays)
** Subject to Traffic Conditions
Frequency Loop Service
0630-0830: 12 – 16 mins
0831-1659: 12 – 17 mins
1700-1900: 19 – 19 mins
After 1900: 15 – 20 mins
** Subject to Traffic Conditions

Route History

Service 160 is a cross-border route connecting Jurong East, Bukit Panjang and Kranji MRT to JB Sentral via Woodlands Checkpoint crossing. The route plies long stretches of Bukit Batok Road and Woodlands Road, providing fast connections between the residential towns of Jurong East, Bukit Panjang and Woodlands Centre.

At each checkpoint, rides will be suspended and passengers have to alight and clear customs before boarding the bus again. For re-boarding from Woodlands Checkpoint to Johore Bahru CIQ and vice versa, commuters may board any bus from 160, 170 or 170X. However, commuters must board back buses from Service 160 after the respective checkpoints if they wish to continue their journey and not pay for a transfer.

Due to varying traffic conditions at the Causeway, travel times and waiting times may increase significantly when jams occur. JB-registered buses may be pulled over from other bus services should there be a need to increase buses on this route.

This bus service regularly diverts via Woodlands Ave 3 / Woodlands Centre Road towards Johor Bahru when Woodlands Road is severely congested.

From 2300hrs onwards, buses leaving Jurong East Temp Int will terminate at Jln Jim Quee – JB Sentral Bus Ter.

MRT/LRT Stations Served:

Special Departures:

  • Johor Bahru (Johor Bahru Checkpoint)  Jurong East
    Weekdays: 0535hrs, 0550hrs, 0605hrs, 0620hrs, 0635hrs, 0650hrs
    Saturdays: 0550hrs, 0603hrs, 0616hrs, 0629hrs, 0642hrs
    Sundays/PHs: 0550hrs, 0604hrs, 0618hrs, 0632hrs, 0646hrs
  • W’lands Crossing (W’lands Checkpt) Jurong East
    Weekdays: 0610hrs
    Saturdays: 0615hrs

Fare: Charges basic distance fares. See Bus Fares. Calculate your bus fare using LTA’s fare calculator on here.

Fleet: Service 160′s fleet comprises of a full fleet of JB-registered Scania K230UBs.

Route limitations: Only SPAD-registered single-deck buses are allowed on cross border routes. Currently, only some Scania K230UBs are SPAD-registered. In accordance with Malaysian regulations, buses must carry relevant documents, fitted with a third brake light at the rear, and attached with Malaysian stickers dictating legal speed limit.


Poster Gallery:

Operator History:

  • 2004 – Present: SBS Transit Ltd

The Bus Service Operating License (BSOL) for this route will be renewed in 2018 under the Bukit Timah Bus Package.


  • 2004 (05 Sep): Introduced by SBST to ply between Jurong East interchange and Kota Raya II terminal.
  • 2014 (Apr): Full fleet renewal of Scania K230UBs replacing Volvo B10M MkIV DM3500s
  • 2014 (01 Nov): Amended to loop at Jalan Tun Abdul Razak due to the permanent closure of Kotaraya II Terminal
  • 2015 (01 Mar): Amended to loop at JB Sentral Terminal, skipping bus stop along Jalan Tun Abdul Razak.
  • 2016 (11 Dec): Serves new Bus Stop 43991, Opp Blk 635A, along Woodlands Road
  • 2017 (23 Apr): Calls at relocated bus stop 43453 Aft PIE along Bukit Batok Rd

Past Routings:

External Links & References:

Back to Bus Services
Back to Cross Border Services

Ding Dong Bell

Ding Dong!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *