Land Transport Master Plan 2040 – Key Public Transport Offerings

The Land Transport Master Plan (LTMP) 2040 was announced on Saturday, 25 May 2019. With a key goal of achieving 20-minute towns and a 45-minute city for all by 2040, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) has announced a slew of enhancements for public transport.

This summary highlights the new offerings for Public Transport (Bus & Train) which either were not mentioned during the Committee of Supply (COS) Debate in March 2019 or updates on initiatives mentioned then.

The LTMP 2040 is based on recommendations of the advisory panel, which was accepted by the Government in the Committee of Supply (COS) debate on 7 March 2019.

Recommendations are made based on three key areas:

  • 20-minute Towns and a 45-minute City
    More convenient, connected and fast journeys using public, active and shared modes of transport, such that journeys to the nearest neighbourhood centre are completed in less than 20 minutes, and 9 in 10 peak-period journeys are completed in less than 45 minutes
  • Transport for All
    A more inclusive land transport system that is supported by a caring and gracious commuting culture
  • Healthy Lives, Safer Journeys
    A land transport system that is safe, supports active lifestyles and contributes to a cleaner environment.


New MRT Developments

1. New North South Line Stations

Two new MRT stations, Brickland and Sungei Kadut stations, will be built along the North South Line (NSL) by the mid-2030s. (New Sungei Kadut and Brickland MRT Stations)

2. Downtown Line Stage 2 Extension

As part of the Downtown Line Stage 2 Extension, the Downtown Line will be extended from its original northern terminal at Bukit Panjang to serve Sungei Kadut station, interchanging with the North South Line.

3. Thomson-East Coast Line Extension

The Thomson-East Coast Line will be extended from its original terminal at TE31DT37 Sungei Bedok station to CG2 Changi Airport, passing through the future Terminal 5, and eventually connect to Expo and Tanah Merah stations. This will also replace the existing Changi Branch Line, to be built by around 2040. (Changi Branch Line to become part of Thomson-East Coast Line)

4. Cross-Island Line to Punggol

By 2031, the Cross Island Line will connect to the Punggol area. This is expected to be built in the form of a branch line, running from Pasir Ris to Punggol.

Earlier this year, the first phase of Cross Island Line was announced with 12 stations slated to open by 2029. Engineering Studies for Phases 2 & 3 of the Cross Island Line are still being conducted as at January 2019, which will eventually connect it to Bukit Timah, Clementi, West Coast and Tuas.

5. New MRT Line Feasibility Study

LTA will study the feasibility of a proposed rail line to serve new and growing developments in the north and northeast regions which may not currently have direct access to the rail network.

This new line will supplement the transport network in the north and northeast regions to serve new and growing developments as well as existing towns which currently do not enjoy direct access to the rail network. The corridor served by the new line could include areas such as Woodlands, Sembawang, Sengkang, Serangoon North, Whampoa, Kallang and the Greater Southern Waterfront.

As part of the feasibility study, LTA will assess the demand, alignment, station locations and implementation timeline of the line, taking into account existing and future land use developments along the corridor.

MRT Priority Cabin

A Priority Cabin pilot, as mentioned in the COS 2019 Debate, will be conducted on one of the MRT lines by 2020.

“Please Offer Me A Seat” Identifier

The “Please Offer Me A Seat” Identifier will be available at all passenger service centres across MRT and LRT lines for commuters who need seats when none are available.

Enhanced Bus Network

1. New Integrated Transport Hubs

11 New Integrated Transport Hubs were announced in LTMP 2040. 10 of these ITHs were first mooted in the URA 2019 Draft Master Plan:

In addition, Marina South Integrated Transport Hub was also announced in LTMP 2040.

2. Transit Priority Corridors for faster buses

Starting from 2020, Transit Priority Corridors (TPC) will be an enhanced form of bus priority compared to the typical bus lanes today. Apart from dedicated continuous bus lanes, sections of bus-only roads and bus signal priority are being explored.

Currently, Bencoolen Street is designated as a TPC.

The following transit priority corridors are being studied:

  • Bayshore^
  • Jurong Canal Drive Extension to Boon Lay Way
  • Jurong Lake District^
  • Loyang^
  • North-East Region^
  • North-South Corridor (2026)
  • Punggol North
  • Robinson Road
  • Tengah
  • Woodlands North Coast

^ – Tentative

3. Bus Stop Upgrading

The ongoing Bus Stop Infrastructure Enhancement Programme will ensure that all bus stops are barrier-free by 2020.

In addition, 2,300 bus stops will be upgraded with elder-friendly seats.

Priority Queues

By the end of 2019, all MRT stations will have priority queues for seniors, expectant mothers, wheelchair users and parents travelling with strollers. This scheme will be extended to all bus interchanges and ITHs by 2021.

Nursing Rooms & Quiet Rooms

Parents can look forward to more nursing rooms at selected bus interchanges and MRT stations.

In addition, LTA will be exploring the possibility of having quiet rooms which are designed for people who need access to a quiet and calming space during their journey.

Heart Zones

The Public Transport Council (PTC) will expand its Heart Zones initiative to all MRT stations and bus interchanges, where practical. This will allow commuters who require help to easily indicate their needs to others who are able and willing to assist.

Presently, Heart Zones are available at Outram Park, Novena, Jurong East MRT Stations, with the one at Yishun to be completed by the end of 2019.

Next-Generation Passenger Information Displays on all Buses

All Public Buses will come equipped with Next-Generation Passenger Information Displays (PIDS) by 2040. These panels will provide information on the next four stops along the bus route and the bus location relative to these as well as MRT and LRT transfer information. There will be on-board audio announcements of the next bus stop.

Currently, the following models of buses are equipped with PIDS:

Bus Reverse Warning System

The Bus Reverse Warning System at Joo Koon Bus Interchange will be expanded to new interchanges such as Yio Chu Kang Bus Interchange.

Collision Warning System

In the LTMP Report, it was mentioned that a Collision Warning System is being installed on 400 new buses. The collison warning system being installed on 400 MAN A22 (Euro 6) and MAN A95 (Euro 6) buses is the ST Engineering I-SAW-U Collision Warning System.

Other LTMP 2040 Initatives mentioned in COS Debate 2019



3 thoughts on “Land Transport Master Plan 2040 – Key Public Transport Offerings

  • 18 August 2019 at 9:04 PM

    How will the entire Cross Island Line look like?

  • 13 June 2019 at 11:07 AM

    Based on the ”Future line” on the map, I will ask you to change an MRT interchange to connect to Aljunied station.( change Kallang station to Aljunied station )

  • 5 June 2019 at 12:20 PM

    The new MRT Line is possibly called North Shore Line.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *